Training

Caregivers regularly handle health concerns and other daily activities of seniors, who are vulnerable to injuries and other common health issues which may require care. FRHC is committed to investing in our caregivers’ training.

Get the Training You Need

Most caregivers get training or certification in one of three programs: Home Care Aide (HCA), Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA or N-AC), or Home Health Aide. People with all kinds of backgrounds choose to become caregivers – including nurses/LPNs – some healthcare experience or desire to learn is important. If you are new to caregiving, we will help set you up with the proper training or certification program.

In Washington state, the Home Care Aide program consists of 75 hours of training and the Certified Nursing Assistant consists of 85 hours of training. These must be done through a state-approved program. Idaho and Oregon require less training.

We Hold Ourselves to the Highest Standards

Each state has different requirements in order to be a professional caregiver. Usually, the Health Department sets the training standards for home care agencies. The State of Washington has some of the highest training standards in the country and as a company based in Washington, we like to hold ourselves to these standards by offering robust training and adhering to all licensing laws.

Typically once you have a license or certification, you will need to complete “Continued Education Units” (CEU’s) each year to maintain your certification.

Here are some the things you learn in caregiver training programs:

  • Duties of a Caregiver, Instrumental Activities of Daily Living
  • Personal Care, Elimination and Toileting, Skin Care, Nutrition and Hydration
  • Caregiver First Aid – Burns and Poisons, Choking and Falls, Heart Attack and Shock, Stroke and Wounds
  • Environmental Hazards, Infection Control
  • Body Mechanics, Maintaining Mobility and Back Safety
  • Memory Loss and Aging
  • Common Chronic Diseases in the Senior Population
  • End of Life Care, Human Needs and Development
Apply to be a Caregiver

We are proud to offer a variety of additional training opportunities for our caregivers

Online Courses

FRHC has partnered with an online training program to provide our caregivers with online access to over 120 government-approved caregiver continuing education classes as well as access to other learning opportunities. This means the ability to obtain continuing education credits 24 hrs/day, 7 days/week in the comfort of your own home and at times that work for your schedule.

Course of the Month

The Course of the Month program is where caregivers can learn a new skill each month online as well as enter for a chance to win $50! There is be a new course topic offered each month. They are typically 1-hour and you can earn CEUs.

Branch Skills Fair

COVID-permitting, FRHC branches host FREE caregiver skills fairs throughout the year, as often as time will allow. During these fairs, employees will be able to enjoy hands-on training opportunities with certified instructors, as well as network with other caregivers and enjoy refreshments.

Home Care Aide (HCA) | WA Only

This course is an eight-part online series that focuses on orientation and safety training for new long-term care workers, followed by in-person skills labs and finally a state exam. HCAs are healthcare professionals who provide intimate, hands-on care to clients. Classes allow students to progress at their own pace and receive immediate feedback via testing and certification. Time To Complete: 120 days max (75 hours of training). Family Resource pays the training/application fee upfront which can be paid back over payroll deductions.

Nurse Delegation

Allows nursing assistants working in certain settings to perform tasks – such as administration of prescription medications or blood glucose testing – normally performed only by licensed nurses! This is a certification course for Nurse Delegation. You must be either an NAC or an HCA in order to be delegated. We offer this training for free!

Due to state laws, we do require that you be 18 years of age and that you can pass a state background check. It also helps if you have a valid driver’s license, auto insurance, and a clean driving record, but it’s not always required.